top of page

How to not throw your child a themed birthday party ...and still be a good mom





We have a birthday in our house that is approaching very quickly! As I'm perusing Pinterest and all the things that make up what we tend to think of as standard prepping procedure for a kid's birthday, I can't help but think of the last kid's birthday that we had, and how different -but beautiful- it was.


Almost a year ago now, our littlest boy celebrated a milestone birthday. We had cake and *a* balloon. We had some family over to celebrate, but, for us, it was a small party.


So how does a self-proclaimed 'Pinterest mom' throw a birthday party for her child and not have one Instagram-able or Pin-able picture to show for it,   and -what's more- not feel guilty about it?


Let me tell you. 


***My editor - aka, my husband - reminded me that, though we only had one balloon, we actually bought two ... the first flew away when we opened our trunk in the Ikea parking lot. 🙄***



I love throwing parties. I love having all my friends and family around,  and I love picking a theme and decorating.  For my baby's first birthday,  I had dreamed of doing a lumberjack theme. Picture lots of flannel plaid and wood accents. So cute.  Something like this, that Hostess with the Mostess did. 


But that did not happen.  


When we found out his cleft palate surgery date was scheduled to be two weeks after his first birthday, we knew we would have to keep it small. A big party would mean exposing him to all sorts of new germ pools, and would almost guarantee him catching a cold, which, in turn, would almost guarantee his surgery being postponed.


At that point, I resigned myself to a smaller family gathering, but still keeping my theme and decorations.


Then, about a month before the big day, we got a call saying there had been a cancellation, and would we like to take the spot...three days from then! It all seemed too fast, but we also felt like it had all happened for a reason: our health was good, we could swing some last minute accommodations, were able to set up work leave, and managed to fit in all the necessary last minute pre-op appointments. It definitely seemed that it was meant to be.


The surgery went well, but part of the 6 week recovery is that you can only have soft foods....so probably no cake. Since we weren't sure how recovery would go, or what he would be able to eat and take on, we decided to make his birthday a big celebration to us, but figure out last minute what that would look like.


So out went all the plans.


Turns out he was given the go ahead to eat solid foods again a couple of days before the big day, and he was in fine spirits and was able to enjoy the day.



(For a great infographic on how to arrange cake pieces to look like numbers, like I did here, see Prepared with Love's post here.)


It was such a different day than the one I had planned in my head, the one I would have chosen, but it was such a beautiful day.


We celebrated him, all that he is, all that he has brought to us and those he has already met in his short, short life thus far, and all that he has survived and accomplished in twelve short months.


It was perfect.


He didn't notice that the napkins didn't have a theme, he didn't notice the lack of party favours or oodles of guests.


But he did notice us, our little family and extended family, making a big fuss over HIM, loving on HIM.


And that's why I don't feel an ounce of guilt.


It's all about making our child feel loved and cherished on their birthday, whether that looks like throwing a Pinterest worthy fete with their favourite theme, or just having a bit of store-bought cake with a candle.


It's not about me, or me impressing anyone.


Sure, *I* missed dabbling in my hobby, the decorations, the fanfare, but that's ok. There will be a few more years where I can exercise those muscles.... and a lumberjack theme seems just as fitting for a two year old as it does a one year old, wouldn't you say?


Stay tuned! ;)


Until next time.

God bless


Cheryl






Hi!  I'm Cheryl,

and together with my husband and little boy, we are living the fortunate life on our newly acquired 34 acres of land. 

I love beautiful things, whether in nature, people, or homes.  For better or worse, I'm a Pinterest mom, and I love trying out new projects to better our home and our homestead ... not to say they always work out, though!

Thanks for joining us on our journey of faith and love.  Here's hoping you enjoy following along with us as we have adventures...as well as misadventures...and maybe even find some inspiration for yourself along the way.

​

"An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered.  An inconvenience is only an adventure wrongly considered."

G. K. Chesterton

~Cheryl~

MORE ABOUT ME HERE

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

copyright info

Thank you for visiting my site.  While you may feel free to share links to Pinterest or Facebook, everything here is copyrighted with all rights reserved, and no part of this website may be reproduced, stored, or transmitted in any form or by any means (electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, scanning, or otherwise), without my prior written permission. A photograph may be used, with watermark intact and unedited, accompanied with a link back to its original post with prior permission.  Requests for permission should be made to livingthefortunatelife@gmail.com

Thank you!

bottom of page