top of page

Simple Fall Wreath -Decor for the Rest of Us


With a September that felt more like a second crack at August now behind us, we are finally into the thick of fall around here with dropping temperatures, and leaves in their full glory.


Since Canadian Thanksgiving has come and gone, a lot of people I know are moving past any generic autumn decor and moving right along to Halloween.

There's still so much fall left, though, and I wanted to give our front door a little autumnal update.

I love the branch wreath on our front door. I bought I ages ago, and added some fake red berries to it. At first, I would bring it out at Christmas, but the last year or so I've kept it out year round because it complements our blue door so well. Though I love the look, the south facing berries were definitely starting to show their age, and it was time to change them out.


This was by far the easiest and quickest update I have ever done. I managed to complete it while the kids played, and I talked on the phone with my sister. That NEVER happens! Being an INTJ, I get lots and lots of thoughts, lots and lots of plans, and enthousiastically start projects, but will inevitably get interrupted, and then my brain will move on to another while the old one sits. This drives my poor husband crazy. So I'm sure he'll be super happy that I was able to start and finish this one so quickly!

The materials I used where as follows:

- command hook

- ribbon

- branch wreath

- fake dollar store flowers

That's it.

I had everything already except for the flowers, which I purchased a couple of weeks ago, with the idea of doing a fall update.


Since I already had the wreath up, the work required was minimal, but even if you don't already have a wreath on your door, you can still do this project in no time. All you need to do is add a command hook or wreath hanging hardware (you can use something like this), and you're ready to go.

So here's what I did:

- took wreath off door

- took old decor off

- tucked new decor in

- re-hung wreath

Ta da!

Now if you wanted something more permanent or had a different kind of wreath base, you could always use hot glue, tape, or wire to secure your decorative elements. What I love about the dried branch wreaths, however, is that you can usually tuck in anything pretty securely under a strand or two and it will stay put.


So there you have it! This project cost me 1.25$+tx and took quite literally 5mins. You can't beat that!



I hope this encourages you to do something simple to spruce up your home. As you can see, it doesn't have to be expensive or time consuming to make a big difference.

Until next time.

God bless

Cheryl

Hi!  I'm Cheryl,

and together with my husband and little boy, we are living the fortunate life on our newly acquired 34 acres of land. 

I love beautiful things, whether in nature, people, or homes.  For better or worse, I'm a Pinterest mom, and I love trying out new projects to better our home and our homestead ... not to say they always work out, though!

Thanks for joining us on our journey of faith and love.  Here's hoping you enjoy following along with us as we have adventures...as well as misadventures...and maybe even find some inspiration for yourself along the way.

​

"An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered.  An inconvenience is only an adventure wrongly considered."

G. K. Chesterton

~Cheryl~

MORE ABOUT ME HERE

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

copyright info

Thank you for visiting my site.  While you may feel free to share links to Pinterest or Facebook, everything here is copyrighted with all rights reserved, and no part of this website may be reproduced, stored, or transmitted in any form or by any means (electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, scanning, or otherwise), without my prior written permission. A photograph may be used, with watermark intact and unedited, accompanied with a link back to its original post with prior permission.  Requests for permission should be made to livingthefortunatelife@gmail.com

Thank you!

bottom of page