top of page

Travelling with Kids


Whether it's a big trip, or just down the road, today we will talk about why travelling with your kids is the best thing for them, along with some practical tips on how to make it work.


I'm a big supporter of travelling with kids.


Now, I don't mean the other side of the world, experience a different culture kind of travel - though I would love to do that someday, too - I just mean changing things up and experiencing something different together.


I've seen first-hand the benefits it has brought to my children. Being married to a transplant (def: someone who lives somewhere other than where they grew up with deep ties to their original place of origin) means that in my married life, I've done quite a bit of travel to the "Homeland." Once we started having kids, I quickly noticed that shortly after a trip, my children would very suddenly make a big developmental stage jump. At first, I thought it must be coincidental, stemming more from the fact that I hadn't been observing them in our regular routine for a week or two. Then I started to pay more attention to see if this was truly the case, but was surprised to see that (at least to my observation), it was solely related to travel.


Now, stating that travel is beneficial for kids, and that it helps them develop and grow is not a new idea. Usually when it is encouraged, however, it is in the form of what I call "big" travel: somewhere with a different language, culture, history, habits or geography. I don't think most of those people would consider our trips from Ontario or Quebec to Saskatchewan as fitting that description, but, regardless, the travel, the change, the experiences change them.


I guess what I'm getting at is this:

even if you don't have the budget or time for one of those "big" trips, consider travelling with your kids anyway.


Is there a day trip you could make to experience something together?

Is a weekend getaway doable?


It doesn't have to be life-changing to change their life and benefit your family.


Now that all of that is off my chest, let's talk about another obstacle to travelling with children: travelling with children!


The idea of setting out with children anywhere can seem daunting. A trip to the store requires quite a bit of planning. Just like that grocery store trip, though, travel is doable, even if it requires some planning and preparation. And, just like anything in life, the more you do it, the better you get at it. You learn what works for your children away from home and what doesn't, what the warning signs look like when your child has had too much and just needs some quiet down time.


I know for us, we tend to let certain rules (though not all, obviously) slide while travelling. For instance, we are not fussy about our meal time rules. If all that someone wants to eat at this particular meal is tomatoes, lots and lots of tomatoes, we will probably just let it slide. (Keep in mind our kids are all under six). At home, we try to keep TV to a minimum, but will probably let them watch 3 hours worth on a 3-hour flight.


For flying, or a long car ride, we usually have a backpack packed with a few small toys for each child, a couple of books, a couple of activities (whether activity books or simple puzzles), water bottles and snacks. I also always travel with lots and lots and lots of wipes, and always have a change of clothes handy -- for everyone.


Despite your best efforts and best plans, things happen.

Messy things.

Uncomfortable things.

We've had a child throw up all over themselves and a parent while flying. We've had a massive throw up on a marathon car ride. We've had a little one crying because they are little and just uncomfortable. We once came down with the stomach flu on the way to the airport... Sigh... That was a fun trip.


If you are "that family" with "that child" and "that Mom" on a trip, hear me -- it is okay. Any of us who have travelled with kids will know what you are going through. And just because my child is sitting there all angelic on this trip doesn't mean I haven't had my turn of being the troubled one. Don't let those who haven't travelled with kids or, worse, don't remember what it's like, discourage you and get you down. They aren’t worth listening to. You're providing your child with an experience with you that is so good for them. And if they don't recognize that, that's their problem.

But I digress

What has really helped me with planning and execution is having lists.

A few weeks before a trip, I start by doing going over our typical day - whatever it looks like in that season of her life - and I think through each part and jot down everything we use to make our date run smoothly. What shows do we watch, what did they eat, what are they playing with and what games are they using.


After writing down our daily log, so to speak, I look through and make a list of things I should bring, things I should buy once we arrive at our destination, or things that others could provide or we could borrow wherever we are. This gives me a good idea of how I can provide some continuity and stability while away.


A week before we leave, I try to wash everything in the house I do a massive laundry day. Then, as I start sort and fold, I put aside anything I want to bring. I try to put together a capsule wardrobe for everyone in the family. If you're interested in a more specific breakdown of my packing list, I made a free template of the list format I use. One is blank and one has some of the items that are always on my list. You can grab one for yourself and print it off by signing up for my email (I will send you the code to access my extra page and you can unsubscribe from the emails at any time, but I only usually send out about 1 a month with links to my new posts).


I created this template because I thought it would save me time writing out the same things over and over again every time we travel, and hopefully, it will be useful to you too. It is divided into two pages. The first page deals with everything that concerns the whole family, and the second page is a break down for each person. There is some overlap, but I have found that this is the easiest way to see at a glance what still needs to be packed for an individual, and what still needs to be packed for the family as a whole.


I hope I have encouraged you today, and given you some helpful tips. If you travel with you kids, what are your tips? I would love to hear them!

Hi!  I'm Cheryl,

and together with my husband and little boy, we are living the fortunate life on our newly acquired 34 acres of land. 

I love beautiful things, whether in nature, people, or homes.  For better or worse, I'm a Pinterest mom, and I love trying out new projects to better our home and our homestead ... not to say they always work out, though!

Thanks for joining us on our journey of faith and love.  Here's hoping you enjoy following along with us as we have adventures...as well as misadventures...and maybe even find some inspiration for yourself along the way.

​

"An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered.  An inconvenience is only an adventure wrongly considered."

G. K. Chesterton

~Cheryl~

MORE ABOUT ME HERE

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

copyright info

Thank you for visiting my site.  While you may feel free to share links to Pinterest or Facebook, everything here is copyrighted with all rights reserved, and no part of this website may be reproduced, stored, or transmitted in any form or by any means (electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, scanning, or otherwise), without my prior written permission. A photograph may be used, with watermark intact and unedited, accompanied with a link back to its original post with prior permission.  Requests for permission should be made to livingthefortunatelife@gmail.com

Thank you!

bottom of page