top of page

$100 Room Challenge - Entryway Makeover Week 4 ... and a half


So you might be wondering about the delay in posting my progress for Week 4 of the $100 Room Challenge. I'm still here, slowly working away at refreshing our entryway - and the emphasis here is on the slowly. We all ended up with a cold here this week, and when you combine that with the fact that I'm currently about 36 weeks pregnant, not a whole lot was getting done around here. I'm thankful that this challenge has 5 weeks this time around!


This week my plan was to build the bench for the entryway. After all, what kind of entryway update would it be if I didn't include a cute spot to sit and pull on boots! And let me just say that when you're 9 months pregnant and dealing with a fresh dumping of 20cm (or 8ish inches) of new snow, there's a downright NEED for a bench for pulling boots on and off!

I had been looking through Pinterest for a while, getting inspiration for the "perfect" bench for our space. Something with simple lines, and a bit of a rustic feel would fit the bill perfectly. Here are a few examples of what I was looking at (have a look at my Entryway Options Pinterest board to see more of what I've had my eye on...and a possible 'sneak peak' at projects that will have to wait til further down the line).




Click on the pictures for links to Pinterest and original sources.

In the end, though, the bench shown below is the one that we decided on. Simple lines, rustic, and it had the perfect dimensions to fit our space already (no adjusting measurements! Yeah!). To get the details on the tutorial, head on over to DIY Candy here.


So with the kind assistance of my father, and his planer, we prepped the 2x4s ...and that's it so far! That is the extent of my progress this week... a planed stack of wood. *sigh* There will be some cutting, gluing, clamping, and staining going on before the big reveal later this week, and we will all just have to wait until then to see how it all turned out.

Be sure to have a look at all the progress the others actually accomplished this past week by clicking through the links below, and have a great week!

~Cheryl~


Hi!  I'm Cheryl,

and together with my husband and little boy, we are living the fortunate life on our newly acquired 34 acres of land. 

I love beautiful things, whether in nature, people, or homes.  For better or worse, I'm a Pinterest mom, and I love trying out new projects to better our home and our homestead ... not to say they always work out, though!

Thanks for joining us on our journey of faith and love.  Here's hoping you enjoy following along with us as we have adventures...as well as misadventures...and maybe even find some inspiration for yourself along the way.

​

"An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered.  An inconvenience is only an adventure wrongly considered."

G. K. Chesterton

~Cheryl~

MORE ABOUT ME HERE

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

copyright info

Thank you for visiting my site.  While you may feel free to share links to Pinterest or Facebook, everything here is copyrighted with all rights reserved, and no part of this website may be reproduced, stored, or transmitted in any form or by any means (electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, scanning, or otherwise), without my prior written permission. A photograph may be used, with watermark intact and unedited, accompanied with a link back to its original post with prior permission.  Requests for permission should be made to livingthefortunatelife@gmail.com

Thank you!

bottom of page